Texans first, Lady Texans second after day one of Indoor Track and Field National Championships

Texans first, Lady Texans second after day one of Indoor Track and Field National Championships

PITTSBURG, KS — After day one of the NJCAA Indoor Track and Field National Championships at the Robert W. Plaster Center, the Texans sit atop the team standings with 51 points, while the Lady Texans are second with 30 points.

The Texans racked up 21 points in the high jump, 10 coming from Sophomore Romaine Beckford who was crowned national champion with a jump of 7' 0.5". James Hampton placed third for South Plains with a jump of 6' 8.75", with Nelvin Appiah-Konadu placing fourth with a clearance of 6' 6.75".

South Plains tacked on 13 points in the pole vault, as Thomas Nieto took second, clearing the bar at 16' 6.75", while Scott Frazier was fourth with a mark of 14' 7.25". The Texans notched eight points in the long jump, as Tony McNeal placed third, soaring 23' 10", while Austin Montgomery took sixth with a mark of 23' 4.5".

In the men's 4000 medley relay, the Texans picked up eight points with a second place finish, as Javon-Taye Williams, Dwight Mason, Isaiah Palmer, and Mehdi Yanouri turned in a time of 10:12.17. After four events in the heptathlon, Beckford is currently first with 2896 points, while Appiah-Konadu is seventh with 2573 points.

On the women's side, Mackenzie Griffin placed second in the pole vault with a clearance of 10' 7.5", picking up eight points for the Lady Texans. In the pentathlon, South Plains' Joniar Thomas placed second with a total of 3397 points.

In the women's long jump, Onaara Obamuwagun placed second with a jump of 19' 9.75", totaling eight points for the Lady Texas. Thomas added three points with a sixth place finish in the long jump, turning in a final mark of 19' 0". In the 4000 medley relay, the Lady Texans placed sixth as Cemore Donald, Maddy Lenaerts, Sophie Spargur, and Kaylee Leicht turned in a time of 12:58.54.

Day two will get underway with the heptathlon at 9:30 a.m., with field events slated to start with the women's high jump at 10:30 a.m. Live results will be available using the link at the bottom of the page.

Live results: http://www.milesplit.live/meets/411314/team-scores

Schedule: https://www.njcaa.org/sports/mtrack/mtrack-ind/2020-21/national_championship/schedule

South Plains finals qualifiers:


Tony McNeal: Triple jump

Justin Guy: 60-meter hurdles

Seydi Sall: 600 meter run; 1000 meter run

Khaleb McRae: 600-meter run; 400-meter dash

Chris Robinson: 400-meter dash

Javon-Taye Williams: 800-meter run

Mehdi Yanouri: 1000 meter run; mile run

Men's 4x800 relay; Men's 4x400 relay

Lady Texans

Ari Villafranco: High jump

Camille Lewis: High jump; 600-meter run

Joniar Thomas: High jump

Genevieve Ige: Shot put

Dejah Fuller: Triple jump

Onaara Obamuwagun: Triple jump

Tia Harry: Women's 60-meter hurdles

Success Umukoro: 60-meter dash; 200-meter dash

Rosemary Chukwuma: 60-meter dash; 200-meter dash

Anna-Kay Allen: 400-meter dash

Cemore Donald: 800-meter run

Women's 4x800 relay; Women's 4x400 relay